Results of the 2010 European Championship (Tampere - Finland)

Comment:  Artem Kachanovsky lost in the 10th and last round to "our" Kim JungHyeop by...half a point, while Ilya Shikchin, who was one victoryt behind Artem before this last round, won to Alexander Dinerstein.  This means that both ended with 8/10...but also that Ilya become European champion 2010, thanks to his better SOS (the breaking system).

So, Artem, who is still only 17 years old, missed the title for just half a point. Nevertheless, he was the big surprise of these championship.

Also with 8 points: 2 Korean 7-d, 2 Kim (Chealim and JungHyeop).

Further, with 7/10: Kang (the 3rd Korean 7-d) + 3 Romanians: Catalin Taranu, Cornel Burzo and Cristian Pop.

Alex Dinerstein, the great favourite, ended as best players with 6/10.

Also to be noticed: the good performance of 2 other teenagers: Thomas Debarre (FR) and Ali Jabarin (IL)

Among the Belgian (dan players):
"our" Thomas (Connor) made 4; and Kwinten, 5
Thomas Connor won the team tournament with Kim JungHyeop, Kim Chaelim, Kang Kyoungnang and Javier-Aleksi Savolainen.

Belgian Blitz Championship 2010

The Belgian Blitz Championship was held in Leuven on Sunday 16th May 2010. Eleven players blitzed the whole afternoon and the first prize went to Ly Duc Khang, followed by Kwinten Missiaen.

3rd edition of Gent Go Tournament

The 3 and 4 July, the Gent Go Club will organise the Gent Go Tournament 2010.

More information :
Online registration :

31st World Amateur Go Championship

This year, the WAGC is held in Hangzhou, China, from May 24 to May 31.

Belgium is represented by Alain Wettach.

You can follow the championship at :

Belgian Rengo Championship

The team "Duc Khang Ly Vu 2k - Kevin Prist 3k" won the Belgian Rengo Championship with 4 victories, followed by the pair "Juliette Brault 15k - Thomas Connor 3d" with 2 victories.

Great thanks to Antwerpen to host the championship.

Full Results

Jan Ramon is Belgian champion 2010

Jan Ramon won the Belgian championship. François Gonze is second. Both overwhelmed the championship (each of them had only 1 defeat).
Alain Wettach (3rd), Thomas Connor (4th) and Kwinten Missiaen (5th) are also directly qualified for the final rounds in 2011.
Full results.

Made In Asia


The Belgian Go Federation will be represented at Made In Asia on 12th, 13th and 14th March 2009. During the whole weekend, initiations and demonstrations will be organized in order to make Go more popular.

Find more info on

Jan Bogaerts wins Leuven 2010

Former Belgian champion Jan Bogaerts (3D) won the 20th edition of the Leuven tournament, before Huang Yong-Sen (3D) en Kim Ouweleen (NL/1D). They all scored 4/5, but Bogaerts won on SOS-points. Bogaerts won the tournament 4 times before. There were 43 participants. Marie Jemine (4k) and Cédric Declerfayt (5k) won all their games and will soon be promoted!

Full results

Belgian Rengo Championship

Daniel French and Christopher Annachachibi won the Belgian Rengo Championship.

The second pair was Simon Pin and David Khatchaturian and the third pair was Charlotte Frenkel and Emmanuel Mathis.

Full result will follow here