Wang Zichen won in Antwerpen

A few weeks after having won in Liège, Wang Zichen (CH, 4d) also triumphed undefeated in the 2018 edition of the tournament of Antwerpen.

2nd was Huang Yongsen, 1d with 3/5.

Bronze medal was Dominique Versyck (2d) (3/5), despite his loss to the young and promising Louis Baudaux (3k).

Jelle Janssens (5k) made 4/5.

There were 14 participants.

Complete results can be found here.

Chan Yi-Tien of Chinese Taipei wins the 39th WAGC

Chan Yi-Tien (Chinese Taipei) won undefeated the 39th World Amateur Go Championship. He has already been amateur world champion in 2014.

Korean Sangcheon Kim was the only player with one loss and took second place.

Six players finished with six wins: in that order: Chen Wang (CH), Stanislaw Frejlak (PL)(best Westerner), Fukashi Murakami (JP), Juri Keronen (SF), Dusan Mitic (RS) seventh and Jose Islas (MX).

Our representative was Thomas Connor, who ended 32th out of 61 competitors with 4 out of 8 (losses against Oscar Vazquez (SP), Christian Pop (RO), Benjamin Dréan-Guenaiza (FR) and Switzerland; wins against Brazil, Portugal , Venezuela and Macau).

Complete results here:

Wang Zichen, prince of Liège

Wang Zichen from China (4d) won undeafed the tournament of Liège with 4 victories, ahead of Thomas Connor (4d) (3/4) and Marie Jemine (2d) (2/4)...
There were 16 participants.

Complete results here:

European team championship: Belgium remained unbeated (draw against Lithuania in last round)

Belgian team (Lucas +, Jan +, Gabriel -, Joost -) made a draw against Lithuania (which ends 2nd) in the last round of the 2017-2018 season of the European Team Championship.

Belgium ended 1st, with 13/14 points (6 victories, 1 draw).
And is promoted to B-league for the next season !

Congratulations to all our players !

Results of the round:


PS: in this competition, an Italian player has been disqualified after being accused of receiving the help of "Leela", a program of professional strenght. Nevertheless, many observers think the cheating is not proven...(to be followed).

European Youth championship 2018

The 2018 edition of the European Youth Championship just ended in Kiev.

In the category under 12, the winner is Stefan Adrian Rolarita (2k, RO). He was 2nd last year. Favorite Artem Pishchalnikov (1k, RU) ended 2nd.

In the category under 16, winner is Arved Pittner (3d, RFA), who was 4th last year, ahead of Solal Zemor (1d, F).

In the category under 20, results are:
1. Sinan Djepov (5d, BG (yes, Bulgaria !)(7th last year)
2. Matias Pankoke (5d, RFA) (4th last year)
3. Elian Joan Grigoriu (4d, RO)(6th last year)
4. Oscar Vazquez (5d, ES) (Oscar had been European champion, but in category under 16 last year...and, incidentally, European champion under 12 in 2014)
5. Valeri Kryshelnytskyi (5d, UA) (was 2nd under 16 last year...and, incidentally, European champion under 12 in 2013)

Complete results here:

PS: it seems to me that they are not so many impressive European "rising stars" younger than 16 for the being time...Hope I'm wrong

Lucas Neirynck, the perennial Belgian Champion !

Lucas Neirynck (5d) did it once more: he won (unbeaten) the 2018 Belgian Championship.

This is his 8th title (in 9 participations).
And a record: Jan Bogaerts won 7 titles; Alain Wettach, 6.

Ended on the podium: François Gonze (4d) with 8/9, and Thomas Connor (4d) with 7/9.

The 2 others competitors who qualify theirselves directly for the 2019 finals (should the system not change) are: Lucman Bounoider (3-d) and a surprising Thibaut Pillon, from Switzerland (1d).

Complete results here:

European Team Championship: Belgium team wins once again...and is promoted to B-league next season

Team team won 4-0 the 6th round of the European Tean Championship against Bulgaria.

Lucas Neirynck won, against one of the European rising stars, Sinan Djepov (17 years old), the only very strong Bulgarian player.
And so did Kwinten Missaen, Dominik Versyk and Vincent Quoilin.

With this victory, Belgium is already sure, before the last round, to reintegrate the B-league next season.

Result of the round:


PS: in A-league, note that France is till leading...

Intermediate results of the final round of the Belgian Championship after 1st WE (5 rounds out of 9)

After the 1st WE of the Belgian Championship, the holder of the title, Lucas Neyrinck (5-d) is the only competitor still unbeaten (5/5).
Two players have a 4/5 score: Thomas Connor (4-d) and François Gonze (4-d)
Two others have 3/5: Lucmann Bounoider (3-d) and Thibault Pillon (1-d).
and three 2/5: Marie Jemine (2-d), Nelis Vets (2-d) and Gabriel Mercier (3-d).
Still waiting their 1st victory are Joost Vannieuwenhuyse (1-k) and Vincent Lochen (4-k) (Vincent replaced at the last minute Bram Vandenbon).

Belgium still unbeaten after 5 rounds in the European Team Championship

Belgian team remained unbeaten after its victory on Spain (3-1) on 13th of February (Gérald Westhoff -, François Gonze +, Gabriel Mercier +, Nelis Vets +).

With just 2 rounds still to be played, it is now likely Belgium will reintegrate B-league next year, but attention: Lithuania is only 2 points behind us :-)

Result of the round:


Pavol Lisy wins the 3rd European Professional Championship

The 3rd European Professional Championship, in which participated nearly all active European professional players, was organized from 6th to the 9th of February in Romania.

Pavol Lisy (5/6 - defeated by Ali Jabarin) won this edition, followed by Ilya Shikchine (5/6 - defeated by Pavol Lisy) and Artem Kachanovskij (4/6).

These 3 players will represent European in forthcoming professional tournaments.

Further, ended...
4th: Alexander Dinerstein (3/6)
5th: Mateusz Surma (2/6)
6th: Ali Jabarin (2/6)
7th: Andreii Kravets (0/6)

More info here:

Amazing how these pros are close in strength (Ilya seems to be a little stronger and Andreii a little weaker than the others): in tournaments in which they play each other, they alternate good and less good results (f.i. compare the results of Lisy and of Jabarin here with the ones they got in Olomuc : ...

Syndicate content